RSS

An idea

17 Jan

Just had an idea to teach students new computer skills or tasks. I’m sure others do this kind of thing but I think it would work well with my students.

There is always at least one student in my classes who already knows what I’m teaching. I think I will have that student lead a “Follow the Leader” game. The object is for the “leader” to demonstrate a task, in a somewhat quick manner, and have the class try to keep up.

I did this recently with some students where I was the leader and they had to draw exactly what I was drawing in TuxPaint. My aim was to show them new tools without just using a boring demonstration. I tried to move quickly to keep them on their toes. They seemed to enjoy the challenge.

I think I will try having the students pick the program/site they want to learn about.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Lessons

 

2 responses to “An idea

  1. sean williams

    January 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Great idea Matt…I think there are a lot of ways you could do this with different subjects; many variations. Thanks for sharing your idea, gotta think how I can make it work in my class.

     
  2. Matt Arguello

    January 19, 2011 at 10:09 am

    There seems to be something about having kids “keep up.” I suppose it’s related to them proving themselves. Regardless, it seems to be a good motivator.

     

Leave a Reply

 
